Picture
If you haven't read the book "The Art of Racing in the Rain" by Garth Stein that is something you  need to do.  I actually listened to it on my iPod via my car on my way to and from work a couple years back.  The book is about a dog named Enzo who is watching his masters wife battle cancer, learning about his master Denny who is a race car driver, as well as love, loyalty and hope. After listening to such an awesome book I wanted to know what my dog was thinking.  There he is above you...yep, that little furry guy with a huge smile was Buckley. My forever friend. 

You're looking at the first picture I ever took of him below and the first time I ever met him.  July 2nd, 2003.  He was 6 months old and I was worried he'd turn into this massive dog because his paws were very large....and there I am holding him for the first time.  LOOK AT THAT FACE!!! Oh my goodness as you could see there was no way I was NOT adopting him.  BTW: you may find it humorous that his given name at this Humane Society was "Hummer".  Nope - not happening..so we named him Buckley after a singer named Jeff Buckley.  

Buckley was a ray of sunshine in anyone's day.  I had many wonderful years with him.  I remember bringing him home and he was afraid of everything.  The vaccuum, the guitar, the blow dryer and I just laughed.  He was so quiet and laid back that for awhile I almost thought he was deaf because I never heard him bark.  Turns out he was just a "go with the flow" kind of fella. Well behaved and so smart.  I was instantly attached to him, I mean how could you not.  His face was the most precious thing I've ever seen.  
“I’ve always felt almost human. I’ve always known that there’s something about me that’s different than other dogs. Sure, I’m stuffed into a dog’s body, but that’s just the shell. It’s what’s inside that’s important. The soul. And my soul is very human.”
― Garth SteinThe Art of Racing in the Rain
That above quote - I felt that way about Buckley at times.  That quote is Enzo speaking in the book.  Crack me up......but seriously Buckley was almost human in my eyes.  He had the most sincere look on his face at all times. He had personality.  Someone told me that once by just looking at a picture.  They had never met him but said "I know for certain, *that* dog has personality!"  There's really just something about coming home to such an amazing animal.  They don't judge, they love you unconditionally, all they want is your love and affection and to maybe throw the ball a few times here and there.  His soul was big and he loved everyone he met and I'm fairly confident they felt the same.  Buckley was super smart too.....he picked up tricks faster than I thought possible.  He could:
  1. Sit
  2. Lay down
  3. Fetch
  4. roll over
  5. high five
  6. shake
  7. turn around
  8. speak
  9. sneeze  (yes, this dog could sneeze on command and it was fabulous)
I could sit here and write about 9 1/2 years of my life with Buckley and what all it entailed but it would take me forever. He has been there for me through some exciting times and lately some of the most emotional times. In fact, I'm almost 100% certain that he was put on this earth to be by my side long enough to almost be happy again before his time here was done.  He was there for me through all of my highs and lows thus far:
  • my wedding
  • moving to a new home
  • the death of my mom
  • a death scare for myself
  • a new journey
  • a separation
  • my divorce
Those are some pretty big events not to mention all the little ones along the way.  If you had the chance to know him you were pretty much blessed...but really, he was the joy of my life and for those of you who don't know what I went through to get him back, let me tell you, it was worth it to have him the last few months of his life.  He meant everything to me and my life will never be the same without him.  I miss his grinch toes that would get out of control when needing groomed, his sweet brown eyes, his soft baby like fur on the top of his head, the constant sighs when he laid down, his constant affection, his joy of life, his happiness to meet me at the door each and every day for almost the past 10 years.  There's nothing else like it in my books.  My world will never be the same. He wasn't just a dog, he was family.  He was my best friend.  
“He died that day because his body had served its purpose. His soul had done what it came to do, learned what it came to learn, and then was free to leave.” 
― Garth SteinThe Art of Racing in the Rain
RIP my friend.  4/17/2013
Below is a  link to a video I made of Buckley a few years back.  I hope it shows you just how beautiful of a dog he truly was.  

Buckley 



Leave a Reply.