Picture
With my divorce coming to an end rather quickly I'm having second thoughts as to if I want to go back to my maiden name....you would think it would be simple.  Get divorced, drop the married name to move on with your life and get back to your old name.  ...yada, yada, yada.  Here's the tricky part...I'm not sure I want to go back to "Draper" either.  Why you ask? Well let me tell you without going into a ton of details.  

My dad and I don't talk.  We haven't spoken in almost 13 years. I don't talk to anyone on that side of my family actually.  I don't even know where half of them are.  The name "Draper" can bring back some memories that I choose not to relive.  My dad did some things that are really quit disturbing and it's almost like giving him that part of his self worth back if I take his name again. I know it sounds weird or maybe it doesn't.  It's a feeling I have...like "you don't deserve to have your daughter have your name again, you buried that hatchet a long time ago" sort of thing.  

Then obviously with "Bicket" I don't want that name either.  I don't want a constant reminder of who I married and who I divorced.  Had we had children then perhaps it would be different. I'd want the same name as my kids but we don't so scratch that.  I also don't want the "oh which Bicket do you belong to?" question 100 times a year. Trust me. It happens.  

This is all leading up to a conversation I had with one of my best friends Melissa. Yes, even this Melissa has a nickname. I call her Mel #1. Growing up in high school she was typically Mel #1 because she was born before me, I was Mel #2 and well since we have the same middle names too (Ann) it was easier to just distinguish us that way. Mark aka "Funky Bunch" nicknamed her "Fruitchew" to go along with my "Starburst"  HA!  Ok, kind of off topic I know.  Back to what I was saying. I jokingly had told her about a month ago that I was going to change my last name completely to Porter. In fact, I told another friend that too, but I was kind of being silly about it....then Melissa says to me this weekend. You know, I put "Draper" back in my phone instead of "Bicket" and I didn't like it so I moved it back.  I'm now testing out "Porter" and I kind of like it.  Oh geez.........

So there you have it.  Out with the old in with the new?  By new I mean really, REALLY, new?  I don't know, it sounds like it could be a lot of work to completely change my name but this could be the time in my life that I start fresh. New beginnings will maybe lead to much happier endings.  

Sincerely,

Melissa A. Porter

..............I don't know guys.  I kind of like it.  :)


Fruitchew
1/21/2013 10:44:59 am

New name ... new start

Reply



Leave a Reply.