A signature from a judge.  That is what I'm waiting on.  A simple piece of paper that says I am no longer married to whom once was the love of my life.  Sad how easy it is to end something that was supposed to last forever.  

My friend asked me the other day "You can always change your mind?"  I quickly texted back with "Nooooooooo"  It was that quick too.  I didn't even hesitate.  It was then that I realized this was it.  I didn't want to go back to where I was.  I remembered what it was like to not be me.  The real me.  Nobody to hold me back any longer.

But why so bitter?  I am so bitter that it kills me inside.  Broken promises you see.  Thirteen years ago I went into a relationship with someone I thought I knew very well.  We discussed the typical things that you do when you're dating, you know...you talk about your dreams, your plans for the future, etc?  Where you see yourself in 10 years, those sort of things.  Apparently I learned many years later that our dreams and plans for the future were much different.

The point is, I wanted kids.  He wanted kids.  Plain and simple.  It was a never ending battle of when and timing etc.  There was always an excuse.  Year after year, one reason after another.  Truth be told....apparently he didn't want kids.  Never actually.  Broken promises.  I am resentful.  I hate him for taking that one thing away from me.  Wasted years.  Are they wasted?  I don't know.  That sounds harsh.  There was love there at some point I'm sure of it.  If there wasn't, then it wouldn't hurt this bad.

I'm not sure really where I'm going with this.  I know this.  My mom wasn't here on this earth long enough to see me have children.  She did however leave treasured items for us girls and the grandchildren.  Even mine....assuming that one day we'd have them.  A tote......a tote full of baby stuff for when I have a child someday.  It's see through and I can see inside of it somewhat.  A glass piggy bank full of change, something crocheted, a couple of rattles, a blanket and even a few bibs.  I've had this tote since October 2006.  I have yet to open it.  I keep lugging it with me wherever I go.   When I see it now... I can't help but to just see broken promises.


 
Angela Flockhart
1/29/2013 12:52:44 pm

Melissa, I love you with all of my heart, and I feel the pain you are going through. I do know what it feels like to feel you had a lot of years of lies, broken promises, and your soul sucked away from you. I have no mother, I'm divorced... Up until recently, I had no friends because everyone in my life had just hurt me. After I got that paper, with that judge's signature on it, I felt an overwhelming sense of sadness, defeat, and somewhere out of the darkness a glimmer of hope. A feeling that a lot of years of bullshit had been lifted off my shoulders. Did it still hurt? Yes. Was I angry? Bitter? Resentful? ABSOLUTELY. How could this man.. who was 10 years older than me, who I always saw as so much wiser, who was supposed to love me... care for me... dream with me... be such a dick? I saw my dream of future babies die, love, life.. all of it, destoyed because he is an idiot, who couldn't get his shit together. Really, one morning, I woke up and was like know what? All of this bull he laid on me is going to go away now. What was, won't ever be again, and I am going to do all of the things I always wanted to do, and be the kind of person I want to be. Better than what I wanted to be. I know you will too. Where you are seeing broken promises, I am seeing unseen dreams. I am seeing a whole life full of love for you, that you haven't even imagined. A life full of someone who will treat you and love you the way you deserve... and an armful of sweet babies, who will love you as well. He is the one who screwed up. He had a wonderful girl, and messed it up. You are allowed to be angry at him, and the situation. But, don't let it keep you bitter. If you're going to stay bitter and angry, you might as well have stayed married. You get to be you! The amazing person everyone who has half a brain knows you are. If I were him, I would curl up in a closet and be in anguish over what an idiot I am. You have the whole world at your finger tips! You are going to be awesome, I promise!

Reply
Starburst
1/30/2013 03:47:05 am

Angela,
That may have been one of the most heartfelt things I have read in such a long time. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. I will reread this every time I have my doubts to remind myself of who I am and who I want to be. No looking back. Going forward to fulfill new dreams. I love you friend!

Reply



Leave a Reply.